John G. Whitcomb Distinguished Staff Award


Annually, three staff persons in the Department of Physics are awarded the John G. Whitcomb Distinguished Staff Award. This award was established to recognize exceptional accomplishments, leadership, and service to the Department of Physics and its missions of research, teaching, and service. (Initially we gave out three awards for three separate categories, but with the reduction in numbers in our shops and moving the IT folks under ASC, we will still give three awards, but not necessarily by category of staff. Please do not submit nominations for faculty, lecturers, or graduate students. There are separate awards for these groups.) Also, an individual cannot win more than once in a five-year period. Please look at the list of former awardees before making your nomination. 

Award winners receive a cash bonus and a trophy which will be presented at the Annual Department Picnic in April (if possible).

Any faculty member, student or staff member may make a nomination.  All regular staff with at least one year of service to the Department are eligible.  Please return nominations no later than March 28, 2023 to Ruth Leonard --leonard.469.

Indicate in your nomination how the nominee exemplifies the following:

  1. Provides excellence in service to faculty, staff and students in the Department of Physics
  2. Develops creative solutions to problems that result in significantly more effective and efficient department operations; and
  3. Promotes the mission and vision of the Department of Physics in unique and creative methods that enhance the working environment of the members of the Department of Physics.

You may be contacted by a member of the Physics Staff Advisory Committee for more information following your nomination.


Thanks for taking the time to nominate a staff member!