About Us

The Department of Physics at the Ohio State University is one of the university's largest and most diverse departments.  As a department in the division of Natural and Mathematical Sciences in the College of the Arts and Sciences, the Department of Physics occupies the recently built Physics Research Building as well as instructional and advising space in Smith Laboratory, the former home of the department.  The department currently has 54 faculty and approximately 60 postdoctoral researchers and research scientists, 190 graduate students, and 320 undergraduate majors. 


Our faculty, postdocs, research scientists and students conduct world-class research in the following

  • Astrophysics
  • Atomic, Molecular & Optical Experiment and Theory
  • Biophysics
  • Condensed Matter Experiment and Theory
  • High Energy Experiment and Theory
  • Nuclear Experiment and Theory
  • Physics Education

Research Centers and Groups

World Class Faculty

Our faculty members are fellows of elite organizations and winners of prestigious awards both at the university level and at the national and international level.  Be sure to look at our complete list of awards -  COMPLETE AWARDS-List updated.pdf

The Ohio State University Distinguished Faculty Awardees:

Distinguished Scholar (Senior professors are honored for their exceptional scholarly accomplishments and younger faculty members for thier demonstrated scholarly potential).

2014 - Samir Mathur
2012 - Lou DiMauro
2011 - Junko Shigemitsu
2007 - Ulrich Heinz
2003 - Eric Braaten
2002 - Tin-Lun (Jason) Ho
1999 - Frank De Lucia
1998 - Eric Herbst
1992 - Gary Steigman
1991 - Arthur Epstein
1985 - C. Jayaprakash
1984 - David Edwards

Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching (Honored for their superior teaching, faculty members are nominated by present and former students and colleagues and selected by a committee of alumni, students and faculty).

2013 - Douglass Schumacher
2009 - John F. Beacom
2008 - Robert J. Perry
2007 - Brian L. Winer
2005 - Richard Hughes
2005 - Bruce Mainland
2004 - Klaus Honscheid
2003 - Samir Mathur
2001 - Greg Kilcup
2000 - Linn D. Van Woerkom
1999 - Robert Scherrer
1997 - Richard Furnstahl
1996 - David Stroud

President and Provost's Award for Distinguished Faculty Service (Faculty members are recognized for their contributions to the development and implementation of university policies and programs through non-administrative roles, while continuing to teach and pursue scholarship).

2008 - Gordon Aubrecht
2001 - Robert J. Perry
2000 - Bunny C. Clark 


The faculty, staff, and students of the Department of Physics take part in several activities aimed at engaging the public and cultivating an interest in science among young people.

The OSU Women in Physics Blog aspires to give young people, especially females, a sense of what it is like to live a life in physics, whether it be studying, researching, or teaching.

GRASP (Girls Reaching to Achieve in Sports and Physics) is an annual summer camp that allows middle school girls to learn about physics and how it relates to different sports.

Breakfast of Science Champions - This annual program invites middle school children from the Columbus Public Schools to breakfast and then provides a program of a short lecture followed by hands-on fun experiments in physics.  The Center for Emergent Materials has organized this effort in physics an includes physics faculty, staff and students.


In 2013 the Department of Physics in collaboration with the Society of Women in Physics designed, constructed and furnished a Wellness Suite. This is a room designed for use primarily by breastfeeding mothers, but also for any other individuals who require a private, clean space during the day for physical or mental health needs. The room is on the third floor, lab side - Room #3100, and is equipped with a sink, refrigerator and microwave, comfortable chair, and phone. Use of the room will be governed by a reservation system. Please contact physics-contact-us@physics.osu.edu to request access to the reservation calendar and room code.

Meet the Department

This is a new feature dedicated to introducing the many people in the department to each other.  Some have been with Physics for more than 30 years and others just started weeks ago.  Click the link in the menu to the right to find out more.