About Our Group

The Agostini-DiMauro Atomic Physics Research Group focuses on interaction between atoms and intense laser pulses on an atomic timescale (attoseconds).


Our work is supported by:

Our Work

The group is active in both theory and experiment in ultra-fast and strong-field atomic physics.

Our laboratories at Ohio State were established in 2004. The laboratories feature state-of-the-art ultra-fast laser systems from the ultraviolet to the far infrared.

The facilities have two target rooms with several experimental apparatuses for attosecond and strong-field physics.

Our experiments also extend to the AMO facilities at the Linac Coherent Light Source at SLAC National Laboratory and the NSF NeXUS Facility at Ohio State.

In 2023, Prof. Pierre Agostini was awarded the Nobel Prize in Physics “for experimental methods that generate attosecond pulses of light for the study of electron dynamics in matter.”


Our collaborators include: