Ohio State nav bar

APS-IDEA at OSU Physics

The American Physical Society Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Alliance (APS-IDEA) is a new, community-wide effort to work with the physics community to strengthen its efforts to improve equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI). Funded by the APS Innovation Fund in 2019, APS-IDEA convened representatives from about 30 physics departments, laboratories, and research collaborations for an initial workshop June 12-13, 2020, to establish an online learning community, and, more broadly, form a community of practice with the goal of transforming the culture of physics. As in any emerging subfield of physics, progress towards a more inclusive physics community will be accelerated by collaboration, sharing of promising practices, and grounding the work in research. APS-IDEA was created to support the physics community’s efforts to improve EDI.

The Ohio State University Department of Physics was selected as part of the first 2020 cohort for the APS-IDEA Network.  This international network of physics departments and labs will work together to develop and implement long-term plans to increase the equity, diversity, and inclusiveness of individual departments and the field overall, utilizing best practices for institutional change. OSU Physics’ team includes undergraduates, graduate students, postdocs, staff, and faculty, committed to working together and with the department on this important path to the future.


Team Members

• Aaliyah Julius (julius.29@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Aatmaj Rajesh (rajesh.40@osu.edu)
• Adam Krieps (krieps.3@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Alamri (alamri.29@osu.edu)
• Annika Peter (Peter.33@osu.edu)
• Beatriz Burrola Gabilondo (burrolagabilondo.1@osu.edu )
• Brickelle Rahmaan Bixler (rahmaanbixler.1@osu.edu)
• Chelsea Hendrus (hendrus.1@osu.edu)
• Chris Orban (orban.14@osu.edu)
• David Zach (zach.11@osu.edu)
• Duy Nguyen (nguyen.2502@osu.edu)
• Emmy Freudenrich (freudenrich.3@osu.edu)
• Evan Waddell (waddell.154@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Gray Mestemacher (mestemacher.2@osu.eu)
• Hayden Beatty (beatty.231@osu.edu)
• Heather Mei (mei.228@osu.edu)
• Heaven Walker (walker2897@osu.edu)
• Heidi Gui (gui.79@osu.edu)
• Jackie Chini (chini.3@osu.edu)
• James Macduffy Lavelle Riddle (riddle.202@osu.edu)
• Jiachen Yang (yang.7179@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Katherine Indyk (indyk.3@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Katherine Robinson (robinson.1971@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Larry Joda Dotson Jr. (dotson.146@osu.edu)
• Lily Bertemes (bertemes.6@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Lindsey Stultz (stultz.55@osu.edu)
• Lucy Li (li.13803@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Madhur Mehta (mehta.493@osue.edu)
• Michael Poirier (poirier.18@osu.edu)
• Michael Stamatikos.1 (stamatikos.1@osu.edu)
• Michelle Richard (richard.230@osu.edu)
• Mingyi Xu (xu.4959@osu.edu)
• Nandini Trivedi (trivedi.15@osu.edu)
• Natalia Porraz (porrazbarrera.1@osu.edu)
• Robert Conley Vandeborne (vandeborne.7@buckeyemail.osu.edu)
• Roosevelt O’Brien Carr (carr.985@osu.edu)
• Ryan Buechele (buechele.5@osu.edu)
• Ryan Hembree (hembree.26@osu.edu)
• Sabine Jeschonnek (jeschonnek.1@osu.edu)
• Sophie Olsen (olsen.264@osu.edu)



AIP TEAM-UP Task Force 

Actions for OSU Physics & Astronomy Departments.

Call-to-Action Document 

More information on the APS Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Alliance (APS-IDEA) Network.