Student Organizations


Undergraduate Physics Student Organizations 2019-2020

The Ohio State University offers nearly a thousand students organizations. The Department of Physics is home to three of these organizations and are open to undergraduate physics and engineering physics majors and anyone interested in the group's mission.  We encourage our majors to get involved in at least one of the following organizations.

Society of Physics Students (SPS)

The purpose of the Society of Physics Students (SPS) is to promote the development of physics students through interactions with fellow students, faculty, and visiting physicists.  Meetings are held every other week and consist of talks from faculty to outside speakers on divers topics in physics, and lab tours. Visit the SPS Website for additional information.

President: Ari Josephson.24
Vice President: Sam Roberts.1691
Secretary: Sean Bertram.61
Treasurer: Omar Mansour.62
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jay Gupta.208

Sigma Pi Sigma: Physics Honor Society

Sigma Pi Sigma exists to honor outstanding scholarship in physics, to encourage interest in physics among all students, to promote an attitude of service of its members toward their fellow students, colleagues, and the public, and to provide a fellowship of persons who have excelled in physics. The main activities of the society involve outreach projects to enhance the teaching of science in middle and high schools in Ohio. More information is available on the Sigma Pi Sigma Website.

President: Joey Masters.173
Vice President: Caitlin Patterson.988
Secretary: Ian DelaCruz.39
Treasurer: Liam Ramsey.453
Faculty Advisor: Dr. Jay Gupta.208