John Beacom named as an APS Fellow

December 17, 2013

John Beacom, Professor of Physics and Astronomy and Director of the Center for Cosmology and Astroparticle Physics (CCAPP) has been elected as an American Physics Society Fellow for 2013. Each year APS elected fellows number no more than 1/2 of 1% of Society membership. A fellowship election is a distinct honor because the evaluation process, conducted by the Fellowship committees of individual divisions, topical groups and forums, is done entirely by one's professional peers.

John was nominated by the Division of Nuclear Physics and was cited "For his comprehensive work on the diffuse supernova neutrino background and for his wide-ranging work in neutrino astrophysics, which is directed at finding new sources and using their detections to prove neutrino properties and the physical conditions in the astrophysical sources."

 Professor Walter Lempert of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering at OSU was also named a fellow of the APS this year.
Professors Beacom and Lempert join a long list of distinguished colleagues from OSU who are APS Fellows.
Please take time to congratulate John on this prestigious award.