APS-IDEA at OSU Physics


The American Physical Society Inclusion, Diversity and Equity Alliance (APS-IDEA) is a new, community-wide effort to work with the physics community to strengthen its efforts to improve equity, diversity, and inclusion (EDI). Funded by the APS Innovation Fund in 2019, APS-IDEA convened representatives from about 30 physics departments, laboratories, and research collaborations for an initial workshop June 12-13, 2020, to establish an online learning community, and, more broadly, form a community of practice with the goal of transforming the culture of physics. As in any emerging subfield of physics, progress towards a more inclusive physics community will be accelerated by collaboration, sharing of promising practices, and grounding the work in research. APS-IDEA was created to support the physics community’s efforts to improve EDI.

The Ohio State University Department of Physics was selected as part of the first 2020 cohort for the APS-IDEA Network.  This international network of physics departments and labs will work together to develop and implement long-term plans to increase the equity, diversity, and inclusiveness of individual departments and the field overall, utilizing best practices for institutional change. OSU Physics’ team includes undergraduates, graduate students, postdocs, staff, and faculty, committed to working together and with the department on this important path to the future.


Team Members

Terry Bradley – Staff 
Beatriz E. Burrola Gabilondo – Lecturer
Kirsten Casey – Graduate Student 
Chandrodoy Chattopadhyay – Post-doctoral Research Fellow
Ami Choi – Post-doctoral Research Fellow
Emilio Codecido – Graduate Student 
Amy Connolly – Professor 
Donley Cormode – Graduate Student 
Ian Dela Cruz – Undergraduate Student, Astro/Physics double major
Simon Filbert – Undergraduate Student, Astro/Physics double major
Johnny Greco – Post-doctoral Research Fellow
Jay Gupta – Associate Professor
Andrew Heckler – Professor 
Kevin Ingles – Graduate Student 
Ruth Leonard – Staff  
Crystal Moloney – Staff 
Hannah Parsons – Undergraduate Student, Astro/Physics double major
Jon Pelz – Professor
Annika Peter – Associate Professor, Astro/Physics 
Rachel Slaybaugh – Undergraduate Student, Astro/Physics double major



AIP TEAM-UP Task Force 

Actions for OSU Physics & Astronomy Departments.

Call-to-Action Document 

More information on the APS Inclusion, Diversity, and Equity Alliance (APS-IDEA) Network.