$12.5M MURI grant to OSU Physics led by Prof. Louis DiMauro awarded by Air Force Office of Scientific Research

June 18, 2015
AFOSR logo

The Department of Defense (DoD) announced on June 3 that the OSU Physics Department was awarded $12.5M Multidisciplinary University Research Initiative (MURI) grant. The 5-year MURI grant is led by Prof. Louis DiMauro and administered by the Air Force Office of Scientific Research. The grant focuses on the interaction of intense, ultrafast mid-infrared radiation with matter.  The research scope is broad covering topics from basic nonlinear physics, production of compact particle accelerators and mid-infrared laser technology.

The MURI effort includes 4 other US universities (Texas, Arizona, Florida, Louisiana) and 1 UK university (Imperial College, London). This MURI marks the first DoD collaborative effort between the US and UK. The MURI group also establishes some key international collaboration with the Max Planck Institute for Quantum Optics and INRS in Montreal. Collaborators at OSU include Prof. Pierre Agostini, Dr. Cosmin Blaga and Dr. Enam Chowdhury.