Prof. Andrew Heckler receives 2018 OSU Distinguished Teaching Award

February 19, 2018
Heckler Image

Professor Andrew Heckler was surprised in his classroom on Friday February 16, by President Michael Drake, Provost Bruce McPheron and others from ASC, Physics and the Alumni Association to notify him that he has been selected as a recipient of the Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching.  Pictured are Brian Winer, Chair of Dept of Physics, Don Stenta, Assistant Vice President, The Ohio State University Alumni Association, Prof. Heckler, President Michael V. Drake, Christopher Hadad, Divisional Dean, Natural and Mathematical Sciences and Bruce A. McPheron, Executive Vice President and Provost.

The Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching recognizes a maximum of ten faculty members annually for their teaching excellence.  A committee of students, previous recipients and alumni choose the recipients from those nominiated.

Recipients are recognized with a $5000 honorarium made possible by gifts from The Ohi State Univesity Alumini Association, University Advancement and the Office of Academic Affairs.  In addition, the Office of Academic Affairs awards an increase of $1200 to each recipients base salary.  Members are also inducted into the Academy of Teaching.  

Professor Heckler joins a long line of Physics professors who have been honored for their distinguished teaching.  Congratulations Andrew!