JOHN F. BEACOM

Department of Physics phone: (614) 247-8102 The Ohio State University fax: (614) 292-7557 191 W. Woodruff Ave. beacom.7@osu.edu

Columbus, OH 43210 http://physics.ohio-state.edu/~beacom/

Research Focus: Theoretical Nuclear/Particle Astrophysics and Cosmology, Neutrinos

Positions Held:

2011—present: Director of the Center for Cosmology and AstroParticle Physics (CCAPP)

2010—present: Professor

2007—2010: Associate Professor 2004—2007: Assistant Professor

Department of Physics and Department of Astronomy, The Ohio State University

2000–2004: David N. Schramm Fellow in Theoretical Astrophysics

Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory

1997–2000: Sherman Fairchild Postdoctoral Scholar in Theoretical Physics

California Institute of Technology

Education:

1997: Ph.D. Physics, University of Wisconsin (Advisor: Prof. Baha Balantekin)

Semiclassical Analysis of Solar Neutrino Data

1991: B.S. Physics and B.S. Mathematics, University of Kansas, each with Departmental

Honors, Highest Distinction, and College of Liberal Arts and Sciences Honors

Selected Professional Awards:

2013: Fellow (lifetime designation), American Physical Society

2009: Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching, The Ohio State University
 2009: Outstanding Referee (lifetime designation), American Physical Society
 2008: Arts and Sciences Outstanding Teaching Award, The Ohio State University

2005–2011: National Science Foundation Faculty Early Career Development (CAREER) award

Selected Professional Activities:

- Grant, manuscript, and personnel reviewer for agencies, journals, and institutions worldwide
- Elected to Chair line, Division of Astrophysics, American Physical Society, 2012–2016
- Divisional Associate Editor for Astrophysics, Physical Review Letters, 2015–2018
- Member of the INSPIRE (SPIRES) Advisory Board Committee, 2011–present
- Leading the many and varied outreach activities of CCAPP: organizing public lectures, providing science content for diverse audiences, partnering with local organizations, and more, 2011–present

John F. Beacom 2

Selected Refereed Publications (out of more than 100, which have more than 6500 citations):

• Demystifying the PeV Cascades in IceCube: Less (Energy) is More (Events)
Ranjan Laha, John F. Beacom, Basudeb Dasgupta, Shunsaku Horiuchi, and Kohta Murase
Phys. Rev. D 88, 043009 (2013) [arXiv:1306.2309 [astro-ph.HE]]

• The Diffuse Supernova Neutrino Background

John F. Beacom

Ann. Rev. Nucl. Part. Sci. **60**, 439 (2010) [arXiv:1004.3311 [astro-ph.HE]]

• Upper Bound on the Dark Matter Total Annihilation Cross Section

John F. Beacom, Nicole F. Bell, and Gregory D. Mack

Phys. Rev. Lett. **99**, 231301 (2007) [astro-ph/0608090]

• On the Normalisation of the Cosmic Star Formation History

Andrew M. Hopkins and John F. Beacom

Astrophys. J. **651**, 142 (2006) [astro-ph/0601463]

• GADZOOKS! Anti-neutrino spectroscopy with large water Cherenkov detectors

John F. Beacom and Mark R. Vagins

Phys. Rev. Lett. **93**, 171101 (2004) [hep-ph/0309300]

Selected Recent Invited Conference Talks: (out of more than 60):

• Frontiers in Particle Astrophysics
HAWC Inauguration, Puebla, Mexico, March 2015

• Lost in Space

TEDx Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio, February 2015

• Neutrino Astronomy: No Longer a Dream

Astroparticle Physics (TeVPA/IDM) Conference, Amsterdam, Netherlands, September 2014

• Diffuse Supernova Neutrino Background

Shanghai Particle Physics and Cosmology Symposium, Shanghai, China, May 2014

• The Mysterious Neutrinos — Clues from Astrophysics and Cosmology

April Meeting of the APS, Denver, Colorado, April 2013

Professional Activities–Postdocs and Students:

- People who worked with and/or were mentored by me as postdocs include Kev Abazajian, Nicole Bell, Gianfranco Bertone, Mauricio Bustamante, Sheldon Campbell, Basu Dasgupta, Shunsaku Horiuchi, Kohta Murase, Carsten Rott, Jennifer Siegal-Gaskins, Michael Stamatikos, Haojing Yan, Hasan Yüksel, and Pengjie Zhang
- People who worked with and/or were mentored by me as graduate students include Shin'ichiro Ando, Julián Candia, Patrick Crotty, Warren Essey, Bonnie Fleming, Dan Hooper, Shunsaku Horiuchi, Thomas Jacques, Rubab Khan, Matt Kistler, Brian Lacki, Ranjan Laha, Shirley Li, Amy Lien, Greg Mack, Kohta Murase, Kenny Ng, Sergio Palomares-Ruiz, José Prieto, Tijana Prodanović, Ben Shappee, Eric Speckhard, Louis Strigari, Casey Watson, and Hasan Yüksel