# Taekjip Ha

# Boston Children's Hospital & Harvard Medical School 61 Binney Street, Room 907, Boston, Massachusetts 02115 *E-mail: taekjip.ha@childrens.harvard.edu*

#### **EDUCATION**

1996 Ph.D. in Physics, University of California at Berkeley, Berkeley, CA 94720 Thesis: Fluorescence Spectroscopy of Single Molecules at Room Temperature and Its Applications (Advisors: Shimon Weiss and Daniel Chemla)

1990 B.S. in Physics, Seoul National University, Seoul, Republic of Korea

# EXPERIENCE

08/2023-present:	Senior Investigator of Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Boston Children's Hospital and Professor of Pediatrics, Harvard Medical School
08/2015-07/2023:	Bloomberg Distinguished Professor of Biophysics & Biophysical Chemistry, Biophysics and Biomedical Engineering, Johns Hopkins University09/2005–present: Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
01/2012-08/2015:	Gutgsell Professor, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (UIUC)
09/2008-08/2015:	Co-director, NSF Center for the Physics of Living Cells, UIUC
08/2007-08/2015:	Professor of Physics and Biophysics, UIUC
08/2004-08/2007:	Associate Professor of Physics and Biophysics, UIUC
08/2000-07/2004:	Assistant Professor of Physics and Biophysics, UIUC
01/1998-08/2000:	Post-doctoral Fellow (advisor: Steven Chu), Physics Dept, Stanford University
01/1997-12/1997:	Post-doctoral Fellow (advisors: Shimon Weiss and Daniel Chemla), LBNL

#### AWARDS

- 2021 Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine
- 2021 Elected President, Biophysical Society
- 2020 Elected Fellows, Biophysical Society
- 2018 Kazuhito Kinosita Award in Single Molecule Biophysics, Biophysical Society
- 2015 Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences
- 2015 Elected Fellow, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
- 2012 Scientist of the Year, Korean-American Scientists and Engineers Association
- 2011 Ho-Am Prize in Science, Ho-Am Foundation, South Korea
- 2009 University Scholar, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
- 2007 Michael and Kate Bárány Award for Young Investigators, Biophysical Society
- 2005 Elected Fellow, American Physical Society
- 2003 Alfred P. Sloan Fellow
- 2003 Cottrell Scholar, Research Corporation
- 2002 Fluorescence Young Investigator Award, Biophysical Society
- 2002 NSF CAREER Award
- 2001 Searle Scholars Award
- 2001 Research Innovation Award, Research Corporation
- 2001 Outstanding Young Researcher Award, AKPA

#### **PROFESSIONAL SERVICE**

Board of Reviewing Editors for *Science*, January 2011- present Editorial Board, Annual Reviews of Biophysics, January 2019 – present