At The Ohio State University Physics Department, we pride ourselves in excellence in and out of the classroom. The following section honors those in the department who have been awarded for their efforts.


2021 Awards

2021 APS Fellow: Andrew Heckler

2021 Physics Undergraduate Teaching Award: Antonio Boveia

2021 Distinguished Scholar AwardChris Hirata

CAREER Award from NSF: Brian Skinner

TOPTICA BEC Lifetime AwardProf. Tin-Lun (Jason) Ho

Environmental Health January - June 2021 Laboratory Safety Dean’s List: Kagan and Pelekhov

The Gravity Research Foundation awards: Samir Mathur

Community Engaged Scholar: Michael Stamatikos

Bruno Rossi Prize: Michael Stamatikos

Deputy Director Of The Institute For Optical Science: Robert Baker 

Steering Committee of the Electron-Ion Collider (EIC) User Group elect: Nandini Trivedi

Thomas J Evans Teaching Award: Ohio State Newark Faculty

CAREER Award From NSFAsst. Professor Brian Skinner Awarded

2020 Awards

Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) elect: Prof. Nandini Trivedi, Prof. Yuri Kovchegov

NSF And NASA Grants: Annika Peter, John Beacom and Collaborators 

Susan M. Hartmann Mentoring and Leadership AwardAmy Connolly

2020 Physics Undergraduate Teaching Award: Michael Poirier

2020 Alumni Award for Distinguished Teaching: C. Jayaprakash

National Postdoctoral Association's 2020 Garnett-Powers Association Inc. Mentor Award: John Beacom

Outstanding Young Researcher Award: Yuanming Lu

2019 Awards

APS Fellow: Amy Connolly 

2018 Awards

Undergraduate Teaching Award: Dr. Jayaprakash  

Undergraduate Teaching Award recipient: Dr. Jayaprakash

2017 Awards


2016 Awards


2015 Awards

Jason Tin-Lun Ho elected as Member of American Academy of Arts and Sciences

Distinguished University Professor recipient: Ulrich Heinz

2014 Awards

Distinguished Scholar Award recipient: Samir Mathur

John G. Whitcomb distinguished Staff Award presented to recipients, Kris Dunlap, Lisa Colarosa, and Eric Robbins.


2013 Awards

Meggers Award from OSA recipient: Lou DiMauro

Fellow of MRS elected: Len Brillson

NSF CAREER Award recipient: Amy Connolly


2012 Awards



2011 Awards



Misc. Awards